

In case of if the controller chances it depends on the spell. So Beguiler of Wills and Blatant Thievery give you control of things indefinitely: they just say gain control, and don't say ".until end of turn" or anything like it to specify a duration.Since the rules work this way, there aren't cards that explicitly say "gain control forever" they don't need to. To say it simple if your opponent targets your creature and you flicker it, the spell would target the old instance of the creature and not the 'new' one. In that case, it lasts until the end of the game. The last case is if the spell or ability which creates it doesn't specify a duration. That case is pretty obvious from the text on the card. This is what's going on with Act of Treason. It gets moved around, and it only says you control the creature it's enchanting, not any other ones, so when it moves away from a creature, there's no longer an effect giving you control of that creature.Īnother way a continuous effect might not last forever is if it's created by a spell or ability which specifies a duration explicitly (like "until end of turn"). If you move it to a second with an Aura Finesse, you'll lose control of the first creature and gain control of the second creature. If you Control Magic an opponent's creature, and they destroy the Control Magic, they get their creature back. Its effect lasts only as long as the aura is on the battlefield enchanting a creature. Illusory Gains is an example of an effect generated by an object that's not around forever in the realm of gaining control, but a more obvious one is the classic Control Magic. If I take control of an opponents monster and then my opponent attacks that monster during their battle phase, does the battle damage come out of my life points or my opponents life points This thread is archived New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast Related Topics.

So an Aura that has an effect on the creature it's enchanting always applies just to that creature, even if it gets moved around. If no duration is stated, it lasts until the end of the game.Ħ11.3a A continuous effect generated by a static ability isn’t “locked in” it applies at any given moment to whatever its text indicates.

Specifically, continuous effects generated by an object last only as long as that object generating them is around:Ħ11.3b The effect applies at all times that the permanent generating it is on the battlefield or the object generating it is in the appropriate zone.Īnd continuous effects generated by spells or abilities last as long as they say they're going to last, and if no duration is specified they last until the end of the game:Ħ11.2a A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability lasts as long as stated by the spell or ability creating it (such as “until end of turn”). It doesn't give +2/+2 and haste forever, just as long as it's around. If you put Goblin War Paint on a creature, it gives that creature +2/+2 and haste - but if the aura goes away, so does that effect. What you're seeing here is just that some effects are permanent and some aren't. Control-changing effects aren't really special cases.
